News >

LTA 2023 Award Winners

March 20, 2023

Our 2023 LTA Award Winners.

The annual LTA Tennis Awards highlight the incredible achievements and contributions of people in tennis across Britain.

Launched in 2015 with the help of former LTA President Cathie Sabin OBE, the awards recognise the many thousands of inspirational individuals involved in tennis who dedicate their precious time and energy; 25,000 volunteers, 6,000 coaches and c. 1000 officials. They also highlight the incredible achievements of some 22,000 schools, 13,000 LTA registered venues and over 9,000 LTA-approved tournaments. The contribution of these individuals and venues helps to bring fans and players closer to the game we all love.

LTA Connecting  Communities Award Tennis for all (Finsbury Park)    

LTA Club of the Year Award   Uxbridge LTC    

LTA Official of the Year  Emily McGuiness    

LTA Competition of the Year Award   Finchley Manor Open    

LTA Tennis for All Award Get Set 4 Tennis    

LTA Universities Award  King College London    

LTA Development Coach of the Year  Maria Wisdom    

LTA Performance Coach of the Year Mukember Musa    

LTA Young Person of the Year Award  Lola-Juliet Omran  

LTA Volunteer of the Year Award Mark Nolan    

LTA Lifetime Achievement Award  Valerie Willoughby    

LTA Parks Award Rocks Lane - Chiswick

All the county award winners above are put forward for regional awards. Regional winners are then put forward for the national LTA Tennis Awards alongside winners from Tennis Wales and Tennis Scotland.

Winners are celebrated at a national level in the summer alongside other award categories including our players of the year.

In addition to the awards above, the following nominees were highly commended in their respective categories.

  • Stuart Wilkinson for LTA Development Coach of the Year
  • Gunnersbury Park Sports Hub for LTA Parks Award
  • UCL for LTA Universities Award
  • Kate Maurici + Queens Club Foundation for LTA Tennis for All Award
  • Kay Shepherd for LTA Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Julia Ginger for LTA Lifetime Achievement Award

Kay and Julia received Middlesex President's Awards at the Middlesex Awards evening in recognition of their exceptional dedication to developing tennis at their respective venues. Lenny Lawrence also received the Middlesex President's Award with over 40 years of dedication to Middlesex Tennis.

Mike Walesby was awarded the Middlesex Meritorious award for his volunteer work in developing the Middlesex Summer League and role as Regional Secretary for the North-West.

In our League Awards, The Queens Club took the treble in the Middlesex Cup with being crowned champions in the Winter Me'ns and Women's events as well as the Summer Mixed.

The West teams dominated the Premier-League Play offs

Play Your Way to Wimbledon County

In our Performance Awards

Special Recognition

Team of the Year

Captain of the Year

Junior Player


Senior Player of the Year

< Back